Star Wars Books: If You Like Leia Organa…

With the fourth anniversary of Carrie Fisher’s passing recently, I thought I’d honor her by listing some books about our favorite princess. If Leia Organa is one of your favorite characters, check out these books:

  • Leia, Princess of Alderaan, by Claudia Gray (Canon). If you want a story about a young Princess Leia (16 years old), this is the book you want. Leia is preparing to take part in her Day of Demand, to prove her readiness for the Alderaanian crown when the time comes. She must prove herself through three trials: Challenge of the Body, Mind, and Heart. She must navigate not only these challenges, but her relationship with her parents, Bail and Breha Organa, and their involvement in the budding Rebellion, as well as friendships (one of which is with Amylin Holdo), and romance. A great YA book that is great for an older audience who loves Leia, as well.
  • Razor’s Edge, by Martha Wells (Legends). This is the only Legends book about Leia I have read, otherwise there’d be many more listed here. I wasn’t particularly interested in a pirate story, which is what this turns out to be, but it also showcases Leia’s courage, ingenuity, and diplomacy in a crisis. It also gives a little glimpse of the growing attraction between her and Han Solo (this book takes place between A New Hope and The Empire Strikes Back). Worth the read for Leia.
  • Bloodline, by Claudia Gray (Canon). This remains my favorite Leia book, and perhaps my favorite Star Wars book, period. It takes place just before The Force Awakens, and traces Leia’s path from New Republic Senator to leader of the Resistance. It shows how non-functional the New Republic has become, and the circumstances in which the First Order was allowed to grow. But mostly I loved it for Leia’s personal journey here, in which she must come to terms with her relationship with both of her fathers: Bail Organa, and Anakin Skywalker, aka Darth Vader. There’s plenty of politics here, but also the personal as well–her relationship to her often absent husband, Han Solo, her absent son Ben, who is with Luke at his Jedi training academy, as well as with a political opponent who is her enemy, then her friend, then her enemy again. A great read, and I can’t recommend it enough.
  • Resistance Reborn, by Rebecca Roanhorse (Canon). This book takes place between The Last Jedi and The Rise of Skywalker, and tells how the Resistance rebuilds after the disaster at Crait. Leia’s part is only one of several but it shows her courage and determination to keep going, to keep hope alive, no matter what the odds. She is both emotionally and physically damaged by the Battle of Crait, but her small band of compatriots are both devoted to her and counting on her to keep the spark of the Resistance alive.

These are just a few books that showcase Leia’s character. If you’re a Leia fan, you can’t go wrong with any of them.

Like this post? Hit the Like button, comment below, or Follow The Star Wars Reader.

Check out my sister blog Star Wars: My Point of View, for all things Star Wars!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: